Cook Shire COUNCIL

MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Australia Day Awards in the Botanic Gardens

January 17, 2019 COOKTOWN

Cook Shire residents are encouraged to get behind their local nominees for a morning celebration and awards ceremony for Australia Day on January 26.

The ceremony, to be held at Nature's PowerHouse in the Botanic Gardens, starts at 9am on Saturday, January 26, with the official proceedings and award presentations followed by a delicious free morning tea. The award categories are Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Volunteer of the Year (Group or Individual), Sports (Group, Individual or Event), Arts and Culture (Group, Individual or Event) and Environment (Individual).

Nominees for the 2019 Cook Shire Australia Day Awards are:
Desmond McIvor, Melissa Gunton, Maureen Liddy, Leanne Rayner, Phoenyx Seagren, Alan Wilson, Ayla White, Dale Tan, William Bliss, the Cooktown Junior Rugby League Club, Coen Community Care, Cooktown Historical Society, Dylan Gilmore, Marilyn Morris, Jennifer Midgley, Kristina Davidson, Jim Kelton and Ella Hartwig.

This year's awards will include a display celebrating Cook Shire Council's Centenary, which fell on January 16, 2019. Attendees will also hear from this year's Australia Day Ambassador for Cooktown, Tasman Bain, who is the Co-Founder of Meri Toksave, a youth-led gender equality initiative in Papua New Guinea. Mr Bain is also Chair of the Australian Red Cross Queensland Youth Advisory Committee, a Youth Commissioner of the National Youth Commission into Youth Unemployment and a Youth Delegate to the CSIRO National Outlook Project.

For more information contact Council's tourism and events team via email at mail@cook.qld.gov.au or phone on 4069 5444.

~ end ~